Top 28 Of 2004 – Back From The Dead Episode 025 (30th December 2004)

Back when I was younger I spent a bit of time obsessing over the charts – pop charts that is. Every Sunday between 4pm and 7pm I was glued to the radio for the Top 40. Part of it I suppose was down to an attempt to develop my character and musical taste, to explore all the different types of music that I could (I spent most of my teens listening to the radio in some form or another) but I also think somewhere I was looking for trance, because slowly I refined the music I liked and was able to narrow down and focus my search.

I can remember hearing the likes of 808 State, Orbital, The KLF, Oceanic, The Prodigy, Jack & Chill, Xpansions, Felix, Altern8, System 7, Future Sound Of London, and so many more artists and all of them heard for the first time in the top 40 on a Sunday.

So now, here I was with my own radio show and a load of tunes I’d hammered, thinking to myself, “I ought to do a Top 40.”

Due to the nature of DJSR, acquiring the time to do a full top 40 wasn’t practical, but I could get a full 3 hours. Which I worked out would get me 28 tunes for definite, hence, my first “year mix”, in the form they’ve all taken since – a chart countdown.

The thing with doing the year mix as a countdown just means that the set can be as random as you like, and I love that. It frees you from the normal constraints of the “standard” set and makes for a much better listening experience, heightening the anticipation since you truly don’t know what’s coming next, only that it’ll probably be even better than the tune playing now! 😀

Top 28 Of 2004 – Back From The Dead Episode 025 (30th December 2004)

28. Markus Schulz presents Elevation – Clear Blue (Somewhere) [ASOT] – released 3rd July 2004
27. Mike Shiver & Elevation – Hurricane (Mike Shiver remix) [Captured] – released 22nd November 2004
26. Mannix – Mercury [ASOT] – released 17th November 2004
25. True Form – Forbidden Colours [ASOT] – released 4th June 2004
24. Young Parisians & Ben Lost – Jump The Next Train (Kyau & Albert remix) [Euphonic] – released 11th October 2004
23. Cern – The Message [ASOT] – released 9th January 2004
22. The Mystery – Emotion [RR] – released 28th June 2004
21. Hemstock & Jennings – Reverence (Darren Tate remix) [Mondo] – released June 2004
20. Nebulus – Destination Paradise [In-Telligance] – released August 2004
19. Scott Bond & Solarstone – Naked Angel (Son Of A Pitch remix) [Made In England] – released 31st May 2004
18. Electrovoya – Whispers (Factoria remix) [Fundamental] – released February 2004
17. Van Faber & D’Suza – Overload [Inspired] – released November 2004
16. Arc In The Sky – Vainqueur (7am At Heavens Gate mix) [Discover] – released 19th April 2004
15. GTR – Reason To Believe [Five AM] – released April 2004
14. Kasuma – Dreaming [Venom] – released October 2004
13. Pob Vs Art Of Trance – Turkish Bizarre (DBA remix) [Platipus] – released 26th July 2004
12. Talla 2XLC featuring Ely – The Air I Breathe (Alex MORPH remix) [Bostich] – released 10th August 2004
11. Oceanlab – Satellite (Above & Beyond remix) [NuLife] – released 19th April 2004
10. Inner State – Changes (John O’Callaghan remix) [First Second Holland] – released November 2004
9. Witness Of Wonder – Emotion In Motion [ATCR] – released 12th April 2004
8. Solar Stone & Elizabeth Fields – Speak In Sympathy 2004 (Mike Shiver’s Catching Sun remix) [Fireglow] – released July 2004
7. Diver & Ace – Its Not Over Now (Solid State remix) [Offshore] – released July 2004
6. Exertion – Partizan (Alex MORPH remix) – released September 2004
5. Unknown Source – Cruentus [Afterglow] – released 1st November 2004
4. Baced Vs Aces Delight – Witness [Venom] – released October 2004
3. Gate 42 – Flow (John O’Callaghan remix) [Discover] – released October 2004
2. Robert Nickson – Spiral [ASOT] – released March 2004
1. Randy Katana – In Silence (Txitxarro mix) [Cookies & Cream] – released 3rd July 2004

BFTD Episode 025 – Top 28 Of 2004

0 Responses to “Top 28 Of 2004 – Back From The Dead Episode 025 (30th December 2004)”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,620 other followers


iTunes Lazarus here: iTunes Defcon Audio here:
You can buy tracks from Defcon Recordings here:

Top Rated

December 2004
« Nov   Jan »

Blog Stats

  • 185,493 hits
free counters

Lazarus on Twitter

%d bloggers like this: