19
Jan
07

6 Hour Special – The Rebirth Session Episode 100 (19th January 2007)


I’d originally planned to ask Steph to marry me on New Years Eve, we’d planned on having the night in already because no-one was having a party this year. However, as she wasn’t party to this information, she didn’t see the issue in inviting some of our friends over for dinner that night, ruining my cunning plan.

Unperterbed, I had to hang onto and hide the ring for another fortnight, as we were then going away for the weekend as it was the third anniversary of our getting together, which was why Episode 100 wasn’t on the 12th.

Thankfully, Steph agreed to marry me, making all the trouble worth it, and so this was the first show I ever did as an engaged man 🙂 Planning it wasn’t really on the agenda, instead I used the method I had for DJing at house-parties (usually for anything between 4 and 12 hours at a time – I do have a recording of one 11 hour session which I will post one day…)

This method was simple. I’d pick out a pile of tunes as a massive shortlist. 250 or so. Then I’d pick an intro tune. Then I’d just get on with it 🙂 But this wasn’t just a celebration for me of the milestone, it was a double celebration for me 🙂

There’s a lot to be said for this kind of DJing when compared to the uber-geeky planning of my demo mixes, and it’s definitely a lot more liberating. There are also a couple of requests from the chatroom too, naturally!

Asking to pick a favourite mix of mine as an impossible task for me but I will say that this is one that I’m very proud of, and captured that house-party spirit very well. Most people who know me in real life are more used to my epic sets than my radio shows really, and the fact that it’s a mainly vinyl set as well is kind of the icing on the cake for me 😉

6 Hour Special – The Rebirth Session Episode 100 (19th January 2007)

E’Voke – The Arms Of Loren (Tranquill0’s Clear Water mix) [Inferno]
Armin van Buuren featuring Justine Suissa – Never Wanted This [United]
Schiller – Ruhe (Humate remix) [Data]
Planisphere – Teardrop [Bonzai]
Alphadelta – Take My Time (Vico Jaeae remix) [CDR]
Petter McCowan featuring Nathan C – Identify [Somatic Sense]
3MSC – Are You In Love (Tragida 2007 In Love mix) [CDR]
Masters & Nickson – Out There (C-Quence vocal mix) [Soundpiercing]
Mark Otten – So Serene (Magdelayna Sunset mix) [CDR]
Exertion – Partizan (Alex MORPH remix) [Afterglow]
Tearrain – Sleepless Fall [Sub-Traxx]
Bullitt – Cried To Dream (Max Graham remix) [White]
Lost Witness – Home (Mike Shiver’s Catching Sun remix) [Nebula]
Smith & Pledger – Forever [Anjunabeats]
Delerium – Underwater (Rank 1 remix) [Nettwerk]
Markus Schulz featuring Carrie Skipper – Never Be The Same Again (Mike Shiver’s Catching Sun mix) [Coldharbour]
Sonar Methods – Echoing Waves (Robert Nickson remix) [Somatic Sense]
Sunny Lax – P.U.M.A. [Anjunabeats]
Greg Murray – I Feel Loved [Platipus]
Robert Nickson – Spiral [ASOT]
Taleamus – Epic Lullaby [CDR]
Luminary – Amsterdam (Smith & Pledger remix) [Anjunabeats]
Kuffdam & Plant – Summerdream (Stoneface & Terminal remix) [Monster Tunes]
Mannix vs Kaymak – World Gone Mad [ASOT]
Armin van Buuren featuring Ray Wilson – Yet Another Day (Rising Star mix) [Armind]
Rollerball – Albinoni (Super8 remix) [Anjunabeats]
Sundawner – Krystal Dreams (Markus L remix) [Monster Tunes]
Ian Holing – Blue Wave [CDR]
Super8 & DJ Tab – Helsinki Scorchin’ (Alex MORPH remix) [Anjunabeats]
System F – Spaceman [Tsunami]
Push – Strange World (2000 Remake) [Inferno]
Witness Of Wonder – Emotion In Motion [ATCR]
DJ Sentinel – Oceans Of Linau [CDR]
Airwave vs Rising Star – Sunspot (DCML remix) [Bonzai]
Tiesto – In My Memory (V-One remix) [Nebula]
Peaktwins – Dreamer [Electric Sauna]
Gate 42 – Flow (John O’Callaghan remix) [Discover]
Ferrin & Low – Breeze [Fenology]
Kenny Hayes – Ibiza Sky (Alex MORPH remix) [Somatic Sense]
Electrovoya – Whispers (Factoria remix) [Fundamental]
Evasive – Rae Of Sun (Firestorm & Steve Allen remix) [Inov8]
GTR – Mistral [Five AM]
Darren Tate – Fall From Grace [Mondo]
AJ Hutch – The Way Things Turn Out (Med remix) [CDR]
Pervading Call Two – On My Mind (Ace da Brain remix) [Parabolica]
TGL vs Elements – Palermo Stone (Tragida presents Afterstar remix) [Emotive Sounds]
Ace da Brain – Trinity (Hard mix) [Venom]
Future Disciple – Explorers [World Of Trance]
Crusader – My House Is Your House (Alphazone remix) [Waterworld]
Sunblind – Believe (Arc In The Sky vocal mix) [Monster Tunes]
Randy Katana – In Silence (Txitxarro mix) [Cookies & Cream]
Aria – Dido (Armin van Buuren’s Universal Religion mix) [Black Hole]
Darren Tate vs Jono Grant – Nocturnal Creatures [Mondo]
Will Holland – Timeless (Deepwide remix) [White]
Baced! vs Ace’s Delight – Witness [Venom]
Humate – Love Stimulation (Paul van Dyk Original Love mix) [Deviant]

Click:
RS Episode 100 (Full Show)

I also have the show in 5 CD-friendly pieces with cue files. Cue files are idiot-proof, trust me, I know from experience 😉 But for those who are worried, this guy taught me everything you need to know 😉

Disc 1 cue
Disc 2 cue
Disc 3 cue
Disc 4 cue
Disc 5 cue


2 Responses to “6 Hour Special – The Rebirth Session Episode 100 (19th January 2007)”


  1. 1 JoDo
    July 24, 2009 at 9:34 pm

    wow man this looks quite epic – plus I love when there is a nice story behind a mix, it makes it that more special 😉 was gonna DL this regardless but the cues are a wonderful bonus!

  2. June 25, 2011 at 1:35 pm

    I was there tuned in when you played this huuuge Rebirth Session episode at Pure DJ radio,what a great afternoon/evening we had,lots of beautiful tunes(Ace,Ace,Ace,Yet another Day,Ruhe,Dreamer…and much more…. omg!) lots of fun in the chatroom also! One of my best musical memories!:)


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,621 other followers

Categories

iTunes Lazarus here: iTunes Defcon Audio here:
You can buy tracks from Defcon Recordings here:


Top Posts

Top Rated

January 2007
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Blog Stats

  • 184,483 hits
free counters

Lazarus on Twitter


